Menu

Drupal.org D7 upgrade live!

November 1st, 2013

If you are reading this announcement right now, then we did it! Drupal.org runs on Drupal 7! This was a big and complicated project, which took longer than we expected. But we are finally done!

What changed?

Our goal was a straight port to Drupal 7 without major changes to functionality or layout, but with greatly improved code under the hood. However some things did change, please see Drupal.org D7 F.A.Q. for details. Overall Drupal 7 gives us more flexibility to implement new features and there will be a boost in performance for some of the pages. NOTE: issues are still being indexed, listings and searches will show incomplete results till the indexing is done.

What’s next?

There probably will be some bugs. If you encounter something unusual, please check the Drupal.org D7 F.A.Q. first. It may be that the change was intentional. If you are sure that you found a bug, please use the D7 upgrade QA queue to report them. * * * The only thing we really want to say now is.. let’s party THANK YOU! Thank you to all of you for being patient with us during this long project. We know it took longer than anticipated and there were some bumps along the way. Our only goal throughout the project was to make Drupal.org better for all of you. Thank you to all our fantastic contributors. There are so many of them, we even have a special page. Thank you: Andrei Mateescu / amateescu Joel Moore / banghouse Rudy Grigar / basic Brandon Bergren / bdragon Tom Behets / betz Bojhan Somers / Bojhan Chi / Chi Ian Carrico / ChinggizKhan Nell Hardcastle / chizu Karoly Negyesi / chx Bill O'Conner / csevb10 Dave Reid / davereid David Strauss / David Strauss Meghan Palagyi / dead_arm Dave Fletcher / dfletcher Derek Wright / dww Melissa Anderson / eliza411 Frank Baele / frankbaele Greg Lund-Chaix / gchaix Greg Knaddison / greggles Dylan Tack / grendzy Jose Marquez / hackwater Michael Halstead / halstead Herman van Rink / helmo Chad Phillips / hunmonk Jason Savino / jasonsavino Jonathan Hedstrom / jhedstrom Jennifer Hodgdon / jhodgdon Jeremy Thorson / jthorson KS Sundarajan / ksbalajisundar Lewis Nyman / lewisnyman Mark Pavlitski / markpavlitski Marco Villegas / marvil07 Michael Prasuhn / mikey_p Mitchell Tannenbaum / mitchell Nick Veenhof / nick_vh Narayan Newton / nnewton Theodore Biadala / nod_ Pradeep Kumar / pradeeprkara Peter Wolanin / pwolanin Robert Ristroph / rgristroph Chris Ruppel / rupl Sam Boyer / sdboyer Joel Farris / Senpai Sam Richard / snugug Venkata Suresh / sachin2honi Howard Tyson / tizzo Tyler Ward / twardnw Angela Byron / webchick Steve Edwards / wonder95 Roy Scholten / yoroy Thank you to the Drupal Association Supporting Partners, who gave us the funding required to make the upgrade happen. We couldn’t have done this without you! / drumm & tvn